Posted by: hillad | January 16, 2009

MLK Day.

Martin Luther King Jr. is a hero of mine. As a straight caucasian male, I have never really been the target of discrimination. I feel really lucky because I consider discrimination to be downright despicable and a heinous crime. I firmly believe all people should have the same rights as any other, no matter their race, gender, sexual orientation, age, religion, etc. I greatly admire Martin Luther King Jr. for fighting for people who were victims of racism. People who couldn’t fight it themselves for fear of lynching or mysteriously disappearing. He went against the culture in the Southern US that was overtly racist. I still get shivers whenever I hear his “I have a dream” speech. And while I cannot say that his crusade against racism was 100% successful, I can say this country is better because of him. So everyone, take a moment on Monday to think about what he did for so many people.

Responses

  1. I never cared much for the term “Caucasian.” You’re not from the Caucuses. And what happened to your Filipino half?

    I only point this out because, although I can’t say I’m completely in touch with my Latino half, I know it’s there and I honor its existence. Growing up I would run into racism, especially when I was with my dad. And even recently on the streets of our lovely back-country cities.

    I honor the Reverend not as much for where he’s taken us to, but where he’s taken us from. As you pointed out, we still have far to go (Prop 8).

    We should also remember that MLK day shouldn’t be just for MLK Jr. The US Government couldn’t(/wouldn’t) give a holiday to every person who fought discrimination (I’m not expecting a Malcolm X or Harvey Milk day). So we should also honor other leaders of the battle against hate.

  2. I wasnt aware that hillad had a Filipino side 🙂

  3. Oh snap


Leave a Reply

Categories

