Posted by: eseeders | February 1, 2009

Sports And God

Today two God fearing generals of the gridiron will face each other in the biggest match up in their league. Yes i’m speaking of the Super Bowl and for both Kurt Warner and Ben Roethlisberger, the God of the gridiron will be on their side.

Whichever side wins God will without a doubt be invoked much to my disdain and the disdain of many others both believers and non-believers. I do not take issue with Ben or Kurt for their beliefs… they’re perfectly entitled to them whatever I may think. What I take issue with is their constant invoking of God for everything they do. I tune in to watch athletes of the highest caliber performing on the biggest stages around the world… I don’t tune in to sit through a poor attempt to proselytize. This is rife in most all sports and the vast majority of live entertainment as well (just look at the award shows acceptance speeches) and I really just wish they’d keep their ideas to themselves… it is a personal matter after all. Think about it… how would Christians feel if an athlete invoked the god Rama or Beelzebub after winning something big? Just give me my sports and leave whichever god you believe in out of it… its a bit of an annoyance.

I’m not the only one that feels this way either check here and here

Leave a Reply

Categories

